Capture my gaze


I admit it.  Words are some of my favorite things. Always have been.  Just love ’em.  Silly stupid over words :-)

There are certain words that I especially love, in no particular order….capture, profound, gaze, dwell, colloquialism, share, chilly, worship, buzz, baby, perhaps – I truly look for times I can say “perhaps” !  Perhaps there will be an occasion during this blog post that I can insert some of my favorite words.

I must also admit that  I’m drawn to people who love words and language as much as me.  Not just verbal processors, or the perfectly grammatically correct, but people who can and do express themselves in either the spoken or written word.

I’m drawn, for example, to a number of blogs that I read regularly.  Well written, certainly, but words are used exquisitely to draw the reader into their world.  My friend Sally writes a blog nearly every day on how their family is dealing with Alzheimers. I cry often as I read her posts, but I also laugh.  She paints and helps me feel, all with what she writes. I read Ann Voskamp’s blog  as well.  She uses words and photography to help me just love God…more.  These women capture my attention, and almost always my heart’s affection.  Amazing thing…words.

A friend of mine told me recently of a weekend that takes place in North Carolina (hmmm, maybe that’s right.  Can’t remember) in October every year, where storytellers and audiences sit before each other and words become tales, then  tales become memories. He could recount for me a story that he remembers from several years ago at this festival.  I think that’s a surprising thing, but words making memories is a powerful thing.   I guess I’m not the only person in the world who thinks a weekend in the mountains listening to storytellers would be heavenly.

Tonight is my book club, where I get together with a group of other women like me who dearly love words, books, and talking about such things. This gaggle of girls is fun beyond description, but also tender and insightful, intellectual and inclusive.  Some months, I hesitate to admit, this gathering is the most fun I have, because laughter infused into conversation overwhelms the book discussion, and we dissolve into some other topic altogether.  Other moments are serious and deep, a room filled with friendswho can and do trust each other.  How astonishing.  These women, talking, laughing or weeping, capture my heart’s attention.

There may be so much more to say, but I’ll let a couple of those that have gone before me (us) speak now:

  • “The most valuable of all talents is that of never using two words when one will do.”
    – Thomas Jefferson
  • “If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart.”
    – Nelson Mandela

One thought on “Capture my gaze

Leave a Reply

