Lollygagging around in Blog-land


“Love, like truth and beauty, is concrete. Love is active, effective, a matter of being reciprocal and mutually beneficial. Love creates righteousness, or justice, here on earth. Loving involves struggle, resistance, risk.”~C. Hayward

So I’m up to  L, and of course what came to mind is Love.

Lately I’ve been meandering through  Blog-land.  It’s AMAZING what is out there…who is out there.  Smart, funny, insightful, challenging, transparent, literary, talented writers with lots to share. The quote above is from a blogger I stumbled upon recently.  She designs and sells shoes AND she blogs? Check her out:  http://www.joyfolieblog.com/ Cool lady.

I use the word Love often.  I love God.  Oh, do I love God.   I love my children.  I can’t describe the love I have for my children, it’s so powerful.  But I also love salad, and bagels with peanut butter, the perfect white t-shirt, and watching fireworks on the 4th of July.  I love the feeling I get when my earphones are in and I’m listening to my favorite music.  I love the anticipation of the turkey in the oven and the Macy’s Day parade just starting.

I have wondered more than a few times about how I dilute that word by using it to love Jesus and love lasagna….of course it isn’t the same, and I know that.

My son was at my house over the weekend.  He mowed my lawn, and when he left, hugged me big and said “I love you mom.”  Cutting those lengthy blades of grass was love, because it was active care.  He makes time to do that for me.  I admit, though, those son arms around my neck?  Love that.  Love that so much.

A pastor I know recently preached on the space between experience and expectation.  When there is a chasm between the two, choose to love.  Easy to hear, easy to agree with…hard to do.  Here is more to the quote from C Haywood:

“Love is a choice — not simply, or necessarily, a rational choice, but rather a willingness to be present to another without pretense or guile. Love is a conversion to humanity — a willingness to participate with another in the healing of a broken world and broken lives.”

Leave a Reply

