Every Promise Kept


My my.  My my my.

I’ve never known that here.  I’ve not done it nor has it been done for me.

Despite our best efforts, highest intentions and intense love, none of us keep our promises.  We keep some, and sometimes are even inconvenienced to do so. I, for one, can even recall some occasional sacrifice  involved in keeping my promises.

Scrapes and bruises along the way in laying down on the tracks to take the hit – so my children wouldn’t, for example. Keeping my wedding ring on when I wanted to take it off. Giving when there wasn’t anything left in the bank. Loving a very unlovable friend.

None of this makes me anything other than an inconsistent keeper of promises.  I mentioned times of staying steady, but the times I broke ranks and ran would fill far more than a blog post. The truth is, I prefer convenient, warm, easy.  I like the smooth road.

Every now and then I get a clear glance into how I am not God…I am SO created.  emphasis on the ed.  The differences are astounding.

Listen to this by Laura Story

 Faithful God

May the grace that sought my heart on that first day
Be the grace that binds my heart to stay
May the truth that opened up my eyes on that first time
Be the thoughts on my mind that never go away.
For You are a lamp to my feet
A light to my path
You’re the hand that’s holding me

Faithful God, every promise kept
Every need You’ve met, Faithful God
All I am and all I’ll ever be
Is all because You love faithfully
Faithful God

May the love that caught my heart to set it free
Be the love that others see in me
And may this hope that’s reaches to the depths of human need
Be the song that I sing in joy and suffering
For you are the love that never leaves
The friend that won’t deceive
You’re the one sure thing

Faithful God, every promise kept
Every need You’ve met, Faithful God
All I am and all I’ll ever be
Is all because You love faithfully
Faithful God

How deep, how wide the love
That pierced His side, the love
Redemption’s mine, O Love that will not let me go

How deep the love (How deep, how wide the love)
How deep the love (That pierced His side, the love)
Redemption’s mine, O Love that will not let me go

How deep, how wide the love
That pierced His side, the love
Redemption’s mine, O Love that will not let me go

Faithful God, every promise kept
Every need You’ve met, Faithful God
All I am and all I’ll ever be
Is all because You love faithfully
Faithful God

Leave a Reply

