At Peace with Bravery


She is so much braver than I am.  She acts.  She goes.  She does.

I thought at first it was borne out of rebellion.  Maybe a distant cousin, related but not primary.

Two choices…to stay or to leave.  She chooses, and so she’s gone.

But this one is meant to fly…I knew it the very moment I met her.

Born, hand up, then tucked inside a cozy blankie, but wiggling those tiny fists, always straining, out of the bundle, to feel the air.

No failure.  Only promise.  Peppered with disappointments, even mistakes, but forward. Onward. Risking safe.

My heart strains too.  Protect her.  Tuck her back.  Hold on tight.

But this one is meant to fly.

I can hold you, even though I can’t touch you.

Peace with your bravery. For you.  From me.

Leave a Reply

