Stitches, scars and scared


So yesterday I went online to read about my upcoming three surgical procedures.

Definitely an “Oh dear” couple of moments. I still feel queasy :-)  Pictures are icky, ugly, scary.

My mom and I had dinner together last night, and we talked about healing.  Could God miraculously heal me before this surgery ??  No cuts, no sewing me up, no cast, no rehab, no struggle.  The  answer to the question is of course a resounding YES.

And I have to say I’m open to that!  I am.  Sounds pretty wonderful and I would love to be the recipient of such power.

But then… there’s this truth:  He has healed me.  I am the recipient of His power, and I have been part of a miracle.

For isn’t it a miracle to be rescued from bitterness, to be freed from unforgiveness, to be overwhelmed by grace?

Isn’t it amazing that mercies are new every morning, and that what I received today will be different from what I receive tomorrow?

And isn’t it miraculous to find wholeness in an awkward walk and a hand that can no longer play piano with abandon?

Is God capable of healing me further?  Yes. Will he do that before September 12, on September 12, or after Sept. 12.?  I don’t know.

But I know He IS Power. I know He is love.  I know He loves me, even when my faith falters and my steps are graceless.

And I know He heals.  He healed me.

“One single drop of rain
Your salty tear became blue ocean
One tiny grain of sand turning in Your hand
A world in motion
You’re out beyond the furthest Morning Star
Close enough to hold me in Your arms.

Adonai, I lift up my heart and I cry
My Adonai
You are the Maker of each moment
Father of my hope and freedom
Oh, my Adonai
One timid faithful knock
Resounds upon the Rock of Ages
One trembling heart and soul
Becomes a servant bold and courageous
You call across the mountains and the seas
I answer from the deepest part of meAdonai, I lift up my heart and I cry
My Adonai
You are the Maker of each moment
Father of my hope and freedom
Oh, my AdonaiFrom age to age you reign in Majesty
And today You’re making miracles in meAdonai, I lift up my heart and I cry
My Adonai
You are the Maker of each moment
Father of my hope and freedom
Oh, my Adonai”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Stitches, scars and scared

  1. As usual, your writing blessed and ministered to me!
    My prayers are with you as you face further healing September 12.
    Debbie

Leave a Reply

